Composition – Framing

Just the other day I was reminded again that framing can make a big difference in the impact of your image.  While I don’t think there is any wrong way to approach a scene, there are definitely some more appealing ways to do so.  Cyn and I were traveling along a country back road the other day.  I zeroed in on a barn off in the distance, pulled over and fired off a couple of shots.  Moments later, she asked me to back up to the big oak tree we passed on the road.  That very special super duper wonderful lady of mine sees framing remarkable well.  She so often sees things that I might otherwise pass by and vice versa.  We are a good team her and I.

These are all appealing shots from my perspective.  It all depends on what you are looking for and/or trying to convey in your image.

Near
Near

Far
Far

Just Right
Framed with Oak Tree
5 Replies to “Composition – Framing”

  1. I love the composition of the one with the oak tree – the branches guide our eyes right to the focus of your wonderful barn! I think your wife is a keeper. 🙂

  2. This post is a great way to show someone who is very new to photography the way to frame a shot!!! Thank you…my favorite is the one framed with the Oak tree branches…Cynthia definitely does have an eye.

  3. It’s not only framing the barn with the branches of the tree, but from that angle the road beyond the barn leads the eye even further into the landscape which makes the picture more than just about the barn, but of a place where things happen, even if there are no people there right now.

Comments are always welcome and very much appreciated

