A walk about the yard

Sounds simple and easy enough…a walk about the yard.  Normally I would agree.

A week ago today I had a septoplasty and bilateral turbinate reduction procedure.  I had heard horror stories regarding the septopaslty procedure – packing and splint removal to be specific.  I viewed videos of this prior to my procedure.  I viewed many…some good; some a bit worse.  I was fortunate enough to not have packing or splints.  I’ll spare you those videos – go ahead and search them out if you wish.

I spent most of the week of recovery laying in bed propped up by pillows.  This was incredibly mundane, but necessary.  If I moved around too much my nose would bleed; not good for the healing process.  As the week progressed, I was able to move around more, but not nearly as much as I would have liked to.  The gorgeous weather made me want to be out and about even more – very mild; average 77 degrees.  I did lay there with the windows open with all of the lovely flowers in view.

I ventured out the day before last.  To be vertical and walk around upright was an absolute delight.  The mere act of doing so made me feverish and sweaty.  Lay around on you back for a few days doing absolutely nothing and sitting up makes you break a sweat.   Great.  It wasn’t like I was running around yard either.  It is amazing what a few days will take out of you.  Each day not getting up and moving about has gotten better.  Each day I walk around a bit longer.  I just returned for the doctor and all is well.  I do need to go back though in a couple of weeks.  The Dr. needs to pull the “crust” off both turbinates; then I’ll really be able to feel the difference.  Sounds lovely; any video requests?

🙂

Here are some shots from the yard over the past few days.

7 Replies to “A walk about the yard”

  1. Surgery will do that to you. Take a lot out of you and make you appreciate the simple act of being up and around. It seems your recovery is progressing based on your ability to do this great “yard” photo shoot. You grow some of my favorite flowers, showcased in some exceptional close-up photography. Continued best wishes for an uneventful and swift recovery.

  2. Ouch…. I have now been schooled on big boy words… I’ll pass on the follow up vids 🙂
    Really like your insects shots…. wishing you a relaxing recovery.

Comments are always welcome and very much appreciated

