Lightroom – Library Module

AdobeLR5Lightroom – oh how I love thee.  I can say with absolute certainty that I took a crucial step In the right direction when I decided to use Adobe Lightroom.  This software is amazing.  I will readily admit that I am finally beginning to scratch below the surface after two years of use.  The more I use, the more I learn and the more I benefit.  I am absolutely smitten.

I just finished – yes, only a few minutes ago, adding keywords to 4001 images (2012 and 2013 to date) in a master jpeg catalog. This change up in my workflow (previous outlined in workflow part 1 & part 2) has taken considerable time, but it has been worth every hour.  The Library module of Lightroom is amazing.  Meta data, keywords, oh my – love it.  Smart Collections are my best friend.  I can now see at-a-glance how many photos I have on specific subject matter.  The Library module has easily and quickly allowed me to create Smart Collection for some of my favorite subject matter:  barns, couplas, abandoned, state parks – you name it.  Figuring out and establishing your set of keywords may take some time, but do it; do it now.  This process will only take longer the more you put it off.  I wish I would have had my act together right away – it would have saved lots of times.  Some lessons are ok to learn the hard way.

LR5Library

I can very easily see what photos I have tagged as barn.  I know which photos were taken in Wisconsin.  I also know which were capture in the Spring.  I have 54 shots that = barn, WI, Spring.  Why is the season important?  It isn’t at the moment, but may be down the road at some point.  It is easy enough to add the keyword, so I figured I would.  If I would have had my act together sooner, I may have added county name as a keyword.  I could see that being useful in putting together different collections.  These are the things you need to consider when you establish your keywords and how you will apply them.

I can also very easily share my collection of irrigation photos via my library smart collection.  From all season even – Impressive eh :-).  Smart Collection can do that.  $150 is a small price to pay to keep your photography act together.

5 Replies to “Lightroom – Library Module”

  1. I agree. Once you start to use LR as a database and not just for processing you realise it’s immense capability. I am still retrofitting keywords but it is worth it.

  2. I agree Dan Lightroom is worth every penny. I have been using it for about 1 1/2 years and I learn something new every day. What I find really helpful is the video tutorials on Adobe’s website for details like the lens correction section in the Develop Module. Have a great day.

  3. Could not agree more… started w/2 and I am just updating to 5. But just as you stated I had to learn the hard way also w/ tagging. Smart coll rock!!!! Have a great Labor Day.

Comments are always welcome and very much appreciated

