The Stone Barn

It never ceases to amaze me how incredible the treasures are nearby where we live.  They are quite numerous and wonderful.  The Stone Barn just outside of Nelson, WI is one of those treasures and it is in a league all its own.

I am sure I am not alone when I say I enjoy a fine wood-fired pizza.  There are several components of a great pizza; crust is one of them.  Crust is a very important one to me. This crust is like a delightful cracker.  It is very light and has wonderful flavor.

The process by which you will find yourself enjoying a fabulous wood-fired pizza is simple:

Follow these directions; then…

We ordered the Bianca:  A mix of four fresh herbs and four cheeses on a garlic olive oil base.  Now that is a piece of heaven right there.

OutdoorGuyPhotography-8712

The place was packed on this hot & humid September evening.  I was a bit worried about the crowd of vehicles when we pulled up, but that wasn’t a big deal at all.  Cyndie and I ran into (almost literally – it was very crowded inside) my cousin Sharon & her husband celebrating a wedding anniversary; they were on their way out as we were on our way in.

We were order #45.  As Cyndie can attest, sometimes I can get a bit hangry.  It had already started to cool off some and we both had an ice cold beer.  Life was good and the pizza was there in no time.  We didn’t have to worry about carting any left-overs home; there wasn’t even a crumb left.  That was the most delicious wood-fired pizza to date.  I highly recommend this establishment.  It would be a great time to go with a bunch of friends and order each kind they offer.  All of their pizza sounded very tasty.

What a great idea for a barn left in ruins.  All that remained was the stone foundation.  It makes for a unique and interesting venue.

I chose black & white for this shoot because I was a big giant dough head.  For some reason or another I did not look at the ISO setting on my camera; I am not sure why it was set to 1000 instead of 100.  Before any shoot – you always always always check your camera’s setting – especially ISO and exposure compensation.  I will chalk this one up to hungry as I have no other explanation.

6 Replies to “The Stone Barn”

  1. Great shots Dan and now I wan’t pizza. There is nothing like pizza from a wood fired oven. In Manhattan one pizza joint still has the original coal fired oven from when the place was built and the pizza is amazing. They’re cooked in about 8 minutes crispy crust and bubbly.

    1. Thanks Joe.

      It’s pretty hard to mess up a pizza; although I have eaten a few – key word eaten. No matter how bad, it is still o.k. Coal fired is good too. At first glance and opportunity to try this, I thought to myself, “coal?” It’s just not for generating energy 🙂 There is a coal-fired pizza place in St. Paul. Their pies are plenty good too.

  2. I would have to agree 100% with you on the statement that this stone-fired pizza was the best to date! The images told a story of the night… no matter if they were processed in B/W or in color. These images were awesome and very well thought out!

Comments are always welcome and very much appreciated

